Minnesota
MN
Minnesota Job Skills Partnership: Automation Training Incentive Program and Partnership Program
the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development
DEED's training grant pages and the Automation Training Incentive Program guide (February 2026)
source
$5,000
per employee, Automation Training Incentive Program
$10,000 to $35,000
grant size, Automation Training Incentive Program
1:1
business match on Partnership Program grants
150
full-time employees or fewer for the automation program
Program terms checked against Minnesota DEED and the Minnesota Office of Higher Education on September 25, 2026. Current-year funding and the share covered under the automation program are still being confirmed.
Four things decide it. | We check them with you.
Minnesota has more than one program and each has a different gate. Send the form and we will tell you which, if any, fits your company, and whether these courses can be part of it, before you spend time on an application.
  • You are a manufacturer or skilled assembly production business located in Greater Minnesota, outside the seven-county Twin Cities metro
  • You have 150 or fewer full-time employees company-wide
  • You have invested in new automation technology in the past year, or plan to during the project, and the training ties to it
  • The people you train hold permanent, full-time jobs of at least 32 hours a week paying at least 120% of the federal poverty guideline for a family of four
If you are outside those four points, the Partnership Program can still apply, but an accredited educational institution has to be the grantee and your business matches the grant at least one to one in cash or in kind. We check with you whether a college partner would include these courses.
Size matters in Minnesota. The automation program stops at 150 full-time employees. Above that, the Partnership route through an accredited college is the one to look at. Send the form and we will route you.
Under the Automation Training Incentive Program, a $3,000 seat sits under the $5,000 per-employee cap, and grants run from $10,000 to $35,000, so a project needs about four seats or more to reach the minimum. The program guide does not state a match or a share, so we confirm with DEED what it covers before we quote a number.
First come, first served, and size has a limit
The automation program takes applications at any time and funds them in order. Start with the eligibility check so you know which Minnesota program fits.
Minnesota · DEED training grants

Minnesota AI Training Grants: Real Money, Narrow Eligibility

Minnesota funds employee training through several programs, but most of them route the money through a Minnesota college or licensed school. The one that lets you bring an outside trainer, DEED's Automation Training Incentive Program, is limited to manufacturers and skilled assembly businesses in Greater Minnesota with 150 or fewer full-time employees, and the training has to tie to new automation technology. We tell you plainly which program, if any, fits your company.

Up to 100%of course cost reimbursed
$3,000per employee, per course
$15,000per company, per calendar year
10 hrslive, instructor-led training

Program terms checked against Commonwealth Corporation's published guidelines on September 21, 2026.

15 minute eligibility check

Six things have to be true. We check them with you.

The Express Program is simple once you know you qualify. Send the form and we will confirm each point on a short call, pick the course, and set a start date that clears the 21-day filing rule.

  • You have 100 or fewer Massachusetts W-2 employees
  • You have a physical Massachusetts location, owned or leased
  • Trainees are W-2 employees who work in Massachusetts (not owners, 1099 contractors or temps)
  • Your three state documents are current
  • No trainee has had the same or similar funded training in the last five years
  • Training happens on paid time, at regular wages
Over 100 employees? The General Program funds $10,000 to $200,000 with a 1-to-1 match. Use the same form and we will route you.

See if your team qualifies

Takes about a minute. We reply within one business day.

With more than 100 Massachusetts employees, Express will not fit, but the General Program can: $10,000 to $200,000 with a 1-to-1 match, and wages paid during training count toward it. Send the form and we will walk you through that route.

No cost and no obligation. Help with the application is free, and you file it. Approval is decided by Commonwealth Corporation and is not guaranteed.

✓

Got it. You are on our list.

We will email you within one business day to set up the 15 minute call. A checklist is on its way to your inbox now. Want to skip the back and forth?

Pick a time now
Local view

How Minnesota pays for AI training, in plain terms

Minnesota's main training grants sit with the Minnesota Job Skills Partnership at DEED: the Partnership Program, the Pathways Program, the Job Training Incentive Program, the Low Income Worker Training Program, and the Automation Training Incentive Program. A separate Dual Training Grant is run by the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.

The Partnership Program is the largest. Accredited public or private educational institutions are the grantees, partnering with businesses. The business matches the grant at least one to one in cash or in kind, grants reach up to $500,000, and approvals come two to three times a year. For an employer, this route runs through a college, which decides what training goes in the project.

The Automation Training Incentive Program is the one with an open door for outside trainers. Training can be delivered by colleges, in-house staff, agencies, consultants or equipment vendors. It is limited to manufacturing and skilled assembly businesses in Greater Minnesota with 150 or fewer full-time employees, it requires an investment in new automation technology, and the training has to relate directly to that technology. Grants run $10,000 to $35,000, capped at $5,000 per employee.

The Dual Training Grant lists a data science and AI machine learning specialist occupation, but it requires a Minnesota-authorized postsecondary provider, and its 2026 round closed April 8, 2026. For a manufacturer outside the metro that is adding automation, the automation program is how a smaller team trains staff to automate repetitive work and keep up with larger, better-funded competitors.

Region
Statewide
Who runs the grant
Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED), Minnesota Job Skills Partnership
Check my eligibility
Use cases

What a trained team automates first

Training is the starting line. These are the repetitive jobs small and mid-size businesses take off their people's plates once the team knows how to direct AI and check its work.

The edge the big players already have

Private equity backed competitors are buying up trades, practices and service businesses and running them on centralized software with a back-office team behind it. An independent business does not need that overhead to match them. A trained staff plus a handful of well-chosen automations gives a regular small business a true technological edge: faster answers, tighter books, cleaner data, and owners who get their evenings back.

End-of-day bookkeeping and reconciliation

Daily sales, deposits and card batches matched against the books every night. Entries are drafted, exceptions are flagged, and a person only reviews what does not tie out.

An AI receptionist that books the appointment

Calls answered after hours and during the rush. It takes the details, books straight into your calendar, texts a confirmation, and hands off to a person when the call needs one.

A CRM that fills itself in

Calls, web forms, emails and your job or practice software feed contact records, notes and next steps automatically. No more end-of-week data entry, and no more leads that never got logged.

Reports that build themselves

The weekly numbers pulled from your systems, written up in plain language and in your inbox Monday morning. Revenue, jobs, margins, pipeline, cash. Nobody assembles a spreadsheet.

Estimates and proposals in minutes

Site notes, photos, measurements or an intake call turned into a priced draft in your own template. Your estimator reviews and sends instead of starting from a blank page.

Invoicing and collections follow-up

Invoices go out when the job closes. Reminders go out on schedule, in your voice. An aging summary tells you each week who needs a phone call.

Scheduling and dispatch

Requests sorted by urgency, location and skill. Crews and customers notified automatically, with reschedules handled without six phone calls.

Document intake and data entry

Vendor bills, certificates of insurance, applications, permits and forms read and keyed into your system, with anything unclear routed to a person.

Reviews, follow-ups and repeat business

A check-in after every job, a review request when the customer is happy, a reply drafted for every review, and a reminder when it is time for the next service.

What this looks like in your industry

Same skills, different paperwork. Pick yours.

Construction and general contractors

Usual course fit: AI for Field Service and Trades Businesses

  • Bid packages: takeoff notes and sub quotes assembled into a proposal in your format
  • Change orders: written up from a voice note on site, priced, and sent for signature the same day
  • Daily logs: crew texts and photos turned into a dated job report
  • Sub compliance: certificates of insurance and lien waivers tracked, with renewals chased automatically
  • Job costing: receipts and timesheets coded to the right job and phase every night
  • Owner updates: a weekly progress summary drafted from the logs

Roofing, siding and exteriors

Usual course fit: AI for Field Service and Trades Businesses

  • Storm response: every call answered and every inspection booked when the phones spike
  • Estimates: measurements and inspection photos turned into a good, better, best proposal
  • Insurance paperwork: claim documentation and supplements drafted from the inspection file
  • Material orders: built from the signed scope and sent to the supplier
  • Production schedule: crews, deliveries and weather holds kept in sync, with customers notified
  • Warranty and reviews: registration, follow-up and review requests after final payment

HVAC, plumbing and electrical

Usual course fit: AI for Field Service and Trades Businesses

  • After-hours calls: emergencies triaged and dispatched, routine calls booked for the morning
  • Dispatch: jobs matched to the right tech by skill, location and parts on the truck
  • Maintenance plans: renewals, tune-up reminders and booking handled without office time
  • Quotes on site: options priced from the tech's notes before they leave the driveway
  • Invoices: created from the completed work order and sent the same day
  • Parts and inventory: usage logged from work orders, with reorder lists each week

Law, accounting and advisory firms

Usual course fit: AI for Professional Practices, or AI for Finance, Accounting and Payroll Teams

  • Client intake: inquiries summarized, conflicts and fit checked, and the consult booked
  • Document requests: the checklist sent, reminders chased, and what arrives filed to the right matter
  • First drafts: engagement letters, routine correspondence and summaries in the firm's voice
  • Time capture: entries drafted from calendars, emails and documents for review
  • Month-end and tax season: client books reconciled and workpapers prepared faster
  • Billing: invoices, reminders and an aging report without a partner chasing it

Medical, dental and wellness offices

Usual course fit: AI for Professional Practices

  • Phones: scheduling, reschedules and common questions handled without putting patients on hold
  • Recall and reminders: overdue patients contacted and open slots filled from the waitlist
  • Front desk paperwork: forms and insurance details read and entered ahead of the visit
  • Billing follow-up: statements, balance reminders and payment plan messages on schedule
  • Staff documents: policies, training checklists and schedules drafted and kept current
  • Reviews: requests sent after visits, with replies drafted for approval

Restaurants and hospitality

Usual course fit: AI Enablement for Small Business Teams

  • Nightly close: POS sales, tips, deposits and delivery payouts reconciled and booked
  • Phones: reservations, hours and catering inquiries answered during service
  • Ordering: vendor order sheets built from sales and par levels
  • Scheduling: a draft schedule from the forecast, availability and labor targets
  • Catering and events: proposals and follow-ups out within the hour
  • Reviews and social: replies drafted and weekly posts prepared from the specials

Manufacturing and distribution

Usual course fit: Claude Code for Operations and Data Teams

  • Order entry: emailed and PDF purchase orders read and keyed into your system
  • Production reporting: shift counts and scrap turned into a daily report by line
  • Quality paperwork: certs and inspection records assembled for each shipment
  • Quoting: RFQs priced from your history and routed for approval
  • Inventory: reorder points watched, with purchase suggestions every week
  • Customer updates: order status and ship dates sent without a phone call

Property management and real estate

Usual course fit: AI Enablement for Small Business Teams

  • Maintenance requests: logged, triaged and dispatched to the right vendor
  • Leasing inquiries: answered at any hour, with showings booked
  • Rent and owner reporting: ledgers reconciled and monthly owner statements drafted
  • Renewals: notices, reminders and paperwork on a schedule
  • Vendor paperwork: insurance certificates and W-9s collected and tracked
  • Listings: descriptions and follow-ups written from the unit details

One thing to keep straight: the Workforce Training Fund pays for the training, not for building these systems. Your trained team can run many of them with tools you already own. When you want one built properly and built fast, that is the work JMK Ventures does, and it starts with a free audit.

How the money works

Several state programs. One lets you bring an outside trainer.

Automation Training Incentive Program (DEED)

For manufacturing and skilled assembly production businesses in Greater Minnesota, outside Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington counties, with 150 or fewer full-time employees company-wide, that have invested or will invest in new automation technology.

  • Grants of $10,000 to $35,000
  • Up to $5,000 per employee
  • Training by colleges, in-house staff, agencies, consultants or equipment vendors
  • Incumbent worker wages during training sessions are an eligible cost
  • Applications taken at any time, first come, first served

Partnership Program (DEED)

  • An accredited educational institution is the grantee, partnering with one or more businesses
  • Business match of at least 1:1, cash or in kind
  • Up to $500,000 per grant, with a shorter application at $50,000 or less
  • Approved two to three times a year

Dual Training Grant (Office of Higher Education)

Up to $6,000 per trainee for related instruction, through a Minnesota-authorized postsecondary provider, for occupations on the state's competency standards list. A 25% match applies only to employers with more than $25 million in revenue. The 2026 round closed April 8, 2026, and future rounds depend on funding.

The example

A 60-person manufacturer in Greater Minnesota has added automated production equipment and wants six people trained on AI tools tied to it. Six seats come to $18,000, under the $5,000 per-employee cap and inside the $10,000 to $35,000 grant range. If DEED approves the project, eligible costs are reimbursed at the end of training. The share DEED covers is the first thing we confirm.

The Automation Training Incentive Program guide we checked covers fiscal year 2026 (July 2025 to June 2026). We are confirming funding for the current fiscal year, whether AI training counts as training tied to new automation technology, and the share DEED covers. The 2026 Dual Training Grant round closed April 8, 2026, and future rounds depend on funding.
The courses

Five live AI courses. $3,000 per trainee, two-seat minimum.

Every course is 10 instructional hours, live and instructor-led, built around the work your people already do. The price is $300 an hour, so $3,000 per trainee, with a two-seat minimum per cohort. In Massachusetts, $300 an hour is the state's hourly cap, and five seats equals $15,000 in tuition, which is the annual Express cap, so up to the full amount can come back if your application is approved.

COURSE 01

AI Enablement for Small Business Teams

For a mixed group: managers, admins, customer service and the bookkeeper learning the same practical skills together.

2 hrs x 5 weeksUp to 8 trainees
COURSE 02

Claude Code for Operations and Data Teams

The technical option, for whoever lives in spreadsheets, exports and recurring reports.

2.5 hrs x 4 weeksUp to 6 trainees
COURSE 03

AI for Finance, Accounting and Payroll Teams

For the people who close the month, run payroll and chase receivables.

2 hrs x 5 weeksUp to 8 trainees
COURSE 04

AI for Field Service and Trades Businesses

For contractors and home services: estimating, dispatch, job documentation and customer follow-up.

2 hrs x 5 weeksUp to 8 trainees
COURSE 05

AI for Professional Practices

For law, accounting, medical, dental, architecture and advisory offices that run on documents and deadlines.

2 hrs x 5 weeksUp to 8 trainees

Not sure which one fits?

Tell us who you would send and what each person does. We will tell you where we would put them.

Check my eligibility
Course fit

Picking the right course for your Minnesota team

The five courses are the same in every state: 10 instructional hours, live and instructor-led, $3,000 per trainee, two-seat minimum. Start with who will be in the room. A mixed group of managers, admins and customer-facing staff belongs in AI Enablement for Small Business Teams. If the pressure is in the back office, AI for Finance, Accounting and Payroll Teams is built for the people who close the month and run payroll.

Contractors, home services and any crew-based business should look at AI for Field Service and Trades Businesses. Law, accounting, medical, dental, architecture and advisory offices fit AI for Professional Practices. And if you have someone who lives in spreadsheets, exports and reports, Claude Code for Operations and Data Teams is the technical option, with a smaller cohort of up to 6.

In Minnesota the automation program is written for manufacturers adding new automation technology, so the Field Service and Trades course and the Claude Code course are the closest fit, and only when the training ties to that technology. We check that link with DEED before you apply.

How it works

Four steps from form to reimbursement

1. Find the right program

A 15 minute call to check your industry, location, headcount and automation plans, and to pick the course and the employees who would attend.

2. Confirm with DEED or a college

For the automation program, we confirm with DEED that the training ties to your automation investment and what share it covers. For the Partnership Program, we check whether an accredited college partner will include these courses.

3. Apply before training

Automation program applications are taken at any time and funded first come, first served, with training expected to begin within six months of the award. Nothing starts before approval. Your team then takes 10 hours of live, instructor-led training over 4 to 5 weeks, and you pay the course invoice.

4. Get reimbursed

Under the automation program, eligible training costs are reimbursed at the end of the training, provided the incumbent jobs are still in place.

Read this before you budget

The grant pays for training. Not for the build.

What can be reimbursed (automation program)

  • Training tied to new automation technology, including training delivered by consultants or vendors
  • Incumbent worker wages during training sessions
  • Trainer travel and lodging
  • Up to $5,000 per employee, in grants of $10,000 to $35,000

What the program does not cover

  • Company orientation type training
  • Training not directly related to the new automation equipment or technology
  • Consulting and implementation work itself, as opposed to training
  • AI software subscriptions for the business

Plan your AI rollout as two budgets: training through the grant, and implementation as its own project. Our free AI capability audit maps the second one.

Local questions

Questions we hear from employers here

Does Minnesota pay for AI training?

Sometimes, and mostly for manufacturers. DEED's Automation Training Incentive Program funds training tied to new automation technology for manufacturing and skilled assembly businesses in Greater Minnesota with 150 or fewer full-time employees. Other Minnesota programs fund training through Minnesota colleges or licensed schools, not through an outside trainer you hire directly.

How much comes back?

Under the automation program, grants run $10,000 to $35,000, capped at $5,000 per employee. A $3,000 seat is under the cap, and six seats at $18,000 fall inside the grant range. The program guide does not state a match or a percentage, so we confirm the share with DEED before quoting a number.

Which employers qualify for the automation program?

Manufacturing or skilled assembly production businesses located outside the seven-county Twin Cities metro, with 150 or fewer full-time employees company-wide, operating with incumbent workers at the project site, that have invested in new automation technology in the past year or plan to during the project.

Who counts as a trainee?

Current employees in permanent, full-time jobs of at least 32 hours a week for at least nine months a year, paying at least 120% of the federal poverty guideline for a family of four. The jobs have to still be in place when you claim reimbursement.

Can we use our own trainer, or one from out of state?

Under the automation program, yes: training can be delivered by consultants or equipment vendors as well as colleges and in-house staff, and the guide sets no in-state rule. Under the Partnership Program an accredited educational institution is the grantee, and the Dual Training Grant requires a Minnesota-authorized postsecondary provider.

Does it cover wages during training?

Under the automation program, yes. Incumbent worker wages during training sessions are an eligible cost.

When do we apply, and how long does it take?

The automation program takes applications at any time and considers them first come, first served. Training is expected to begin within six months of the award, and nothing should start before approval. Partnership grants are approved two to three times a year.

How and when is the money paid?

Under the automation program, eligible training costs are reimbursed at the end of the training, provided the incumbent jobs are still in place. You pay the course invoice first.

What is not covered?

Company orientation training, training not directly related to the new automation technology, and consulting or implementation work itself. AI software subscriptions for the business are outside the program. It pays for training.

Is funding available now?

The automation program guide we checked covers fiscal year 2026, which ended June 30, 2026. We are confirming current-year funding with DEED. The Dual Training Grant's 2026 round closed April 8, 2026, and future rounds depend on funding.

We are in the Twin Cities or not a manufacturer. Is there anything?

Possibly the Partnership Program, if an accredited college will partner with you and include this training, with your business matching at least one to one. It is a bigger, slower process. We will tell you plainly whether it is worth it for a 10-hour course.

What is the first step?

Send the form. We check which program fits on a short call, then confirm the details with DEED. You can also reach DEED's Job Skills Partnership at 651-259-7514 or deed.mjsp@state.mn.us.

Where we work

Five New England states, and a local page for every major Massachusetts city

Each state runs its own training grant with its own rules, so each state has its own page. Massachusetts also gets a page per city, because the program is the same statewide but the businesses are not.

By state
Massachusetts cities
This year's $15,000 does not roll over

Fifteen minutes tells you if the state will cover your team's AI training.

The cap resets each calendar year and the application has to be in 21 days before the course starts. Start with the eligibility check.

No cost, no obligationApplication help is freeYou pay first, then get reimbursed

Courses are delivered by Support Forge, a registered Massachusetts Workforce Training Fund Express Program training provider based in Haverhill, Massachusetts. JMK Ventures offers these courses as a Support Forge partner and may be compensated when you enroll. Neither company is affiliated with or endorsed by Commonwealth Corporation or the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and Commonwealth Corporation does not endorse the quality of any listed training provider. Reimbursement depends on your application being approved by Commonwealth Corporation and is not guaranteed. Program terms were checked against Commonwealth Corporation's published guidelines on September 21, 2026 and can change.